Have you rented your house short term?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
Wannaretireearly

Have you rented your house short term?

Post by Wannaretireearly »

Asking for a relative who may do this if comfortable. Also curious if this is an option for myself.

Caveat: We’ve never dealt with renting, either as a renter or landlord.

If we are out of the house for a significant amout of time (>2 months), why not put the house up for rental?

I’m thinking if one could net $10k+ this would be worth it.

Anyway, I’ve done a few quick searches. Curious, if you’ve done this before, did you use a local agency? Did you use airbnb or Vrbo etc?

Pros, cons? Would you do this again?

My thought is once you’ve done this, it would be very comfortable and lucrative to do it again. But I have no experience!

Note: I’d only do this if it was longer term, multiple weeks/months, with one person/family. I wouldn’t want partiers come in for the weekend and wreck the house. But, you guys can tell me otherwise if this is not always true :)

Thanks.
“At some point you are trading time you will never get back for money you will never spend.“ | “How do you want to spend the best remaining year of your life?“
Sandtrap
Location: Hawaii No Ka Oi - white sandy beaches, N. Arizona 1 mile high.

Re: Have you rented your house short term?

Post by Sandtrap »

2 months
your "home"
not a good idea
you won't make as much money as you think
the downsides are huge
liabilities
ruined carpets n floors
permanent strange herb and nasty cologne smells
lawsuits
et al

not a good idea
j🌺
Wiki Bogleheads Wiki: Everything You Need to Know
Topic Author
Wannaretireearly

Sandtrap wrote: Sun May 28, 2023 5:47 pm 2 months
your "home"
not a good idea
the downsides are huge
liabilities
ruined carpets n floors
lawsuits
et al

not a good idea
j🌺
Thanks sandtrap. You got me with lawsuits ;)