Taxes on Ireland Domiciled ETFs?

For investors outside the US. Personal investments, personal finance, investing news and theory.
Sister forums: Canada, Spain (en español)
---------------
Topic Author
Shinebright

Taxes on Ireland Domiciled ETFs?

Post by Shinebright »

Hi!

So, I'm a non-US investor.

I've seen the golden rule on the forum of investing in Ireland domiciled ETFs (thanks for sharing this with us all btw!).

My country does not have a tax treaty with Ireland. What will this mean for taxes? Will I have to file and pay taxes in Ireland?

There's also a point people make, that by investing in the Ireland domiciled ETFs , you get to take advantage of tax benefits and not pay full US taxes. There are assumptions being made there that I'm not clear on. Why are US taxes even relevant, if I'm investing in a fund in Ireland? lol

I would be using IBKR to buy these ETFs btw. I'm basically a noob to it as well :D

Thanks for the help!
TedSwippet

Re: Taxes on Ireland Domiciled ETFs?

Post by TedSwippet »

Welcome.
Shinebright wrote: Fri Mar 10, 2023 4:36 pm My country does not have a tax treaty with Ireland. What will this mean for taxes? Will I have to file and pay taxes in Ireland?
No Irish tax entanglements. Ireland does not tax dividends or gains paid by Ireland domiciled ETFs to non-Irish residents, and does not apply its inheritance or estate taxes to non-Irish residents who hold these ETFs.
Shinebright wrote: Fri Mar 10, 2023 4:36 pm There's also a point people make, that by investing in the Ireland domiciled ETFs , you get to take advantage of tax benefits and not pay full US taxes. There are assumptions being made there that I'm not clear on. Why are US taxes even relevant, if I'm investing in a fund in Ireland?