Side income tax reporting question (resolved)

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
student

Side income tax reporting question (resolved)

Post by student »

I thought I have asked this question on this board before but I could not find the post. (It is possible that I simply asked my colleagues at work and I did not post the question here.) I am a college professor and I am involved in editorial work for a journal. Currently it is setup like any funded research with the entire amount ($3,000 to $3,500 a year) going to the university to support approved items such as conference travel and other editorial expenses. Due to the pandemic, I did not do any conference travel for almost 3 years and the account has accumulated about $12,000. Going forward, I may cut back on conference travel and there is not much on editorial expenses, so the money is just sitting there. I am wondering whether it is worthwhile to pursue a possible arrangement so that this becomes an income producing side project.

Cons of the potential new arrangement:
(1) Need to pay income tax on it, as it is now income, and not for reimbursement of approved activities.
(2) Need to pay social security tax on it (12.4%).
(3) Extra paperwork at tax time.

I could setup a SEP IRA but my understanding is that the limit is 25% of the income, so it won't avoid paying tax on this income (after deduction of editorial expenses). If it is $10,000, I will definitely pursue this alternate arrangement as I won't spend that much per year on research support/editorial expenses. Any comments and insights? Anything that I have missed?

Thanks.

Edit: It seems that I did a sloppy job in explaining the situation, and it had led to some misunderstanding. (Sorry.) So I have edited the post.