SEP- IRA vs Traditional - can I choose which to use this year?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
boglebill2015

SEP- IRA vs Traditional - can I choose which to use this year?

Post by boglebill2015 »

I work as a consultant, and have income both from 1099 and W2 sources.

In the last few tax years, the majority of my income came thru 1099. I also had W2 income in those years, but that employer offered no 401K or benefits of any type. As such, I put 25% of my 1099 consulting income into a SEP IRA. This was typically $40-$50K into my SEP IRA and is a nice feature of 1099 compensation.

In 2022, my main client was forced by calif regulations to classify me as an employee. Now the vast majority of my income is thru W2, but still with no 401K option (or any benefits for that matter). As a result, I only earned about 8K after expenses this year as 1099. Accordingly, if I contribute to my SEP-IRA, the max I could do is 2k. (25% of 8k)

My question is, can I do a 2022 traditional deductible IRA for 7K (am 54yo), even tho I have the SEP IRA established and have 1099 income that would enable me to do a (small) contribution to my SEP IRA this tax year.

Thanks for your help.
cchrissyy

Re: SEP- IRA vs Traditional - can I choose which to use this year?

Post by cchrissyy »

the individual IRA roth or traditional is an entirely separate limit from whatever you can put in a SEP IRA.
60-20-20 us-intl-bond
tibbitts

Post by tibbitts »

boglebill2015 wrote: Fri Jan 27, 2023 10:49 am I work as a consultant, and have income both from 1099 and W2 sources.

In the last few tax years, the majority of my income came thru 1099. I also had W2 income in those years, but that employer offered no 401K or benefits of any type. As such, I put 25% of my 1099 consulting income into a SEP IRA. This was typically $40-$50K into my SEP IRA and is a nice feature of 1099 compensation.