Lifestrategy Growth in Taxable Brokerage

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
zen_invest

Lifestrategy Growth in Taxable Brokerage

Post by zen_invest »

Hey Bogleheads,

New investor here and appreciating this community.

Before I share my question, I've been reading other posts and I'm aware of the perspectives regarding the tax-inneficiency of holding Lifestrategy funds in taxable accounts. I am new to investing, looking for simplicity in passive investing and a 'good enough' situation :)

I opened a LifeStrategy Growth Fund (VASGX) [80/20] in a taxable account last Fall and funded it with a lumpsum and have been adding to it monthly to DCA.

I'm maxing out my 401k each year and my goal was to have something simple to fund for the next 15+ years.
I am mid-thirties, have an emergency fund and some savings for a deposit in a high-yield savings account.

When I researched the Lifestrategy funds, I really valued their simplicity and understood that I would only sell in the future if I a) needed the cash for a big purchase/goal or b) wanted to switch to another Lifestrategy fund to decrease risk.

I may want to move to a Lifestrategy Moderate Growth (or other, less risky or more tax efficient funds) in the distant future. I'm not sure when, hence the move to use the VASGX vs. a Target fund.

I understand that this will have some tax implications, but I value simplicity and may want to reduce risk from 80% stocks.

Is this an acceptable/'good enough' strategy and has anyone does this themselves and can share any advice on what I'm getting into?

I was feeling ready to 'stay the course' and fund this account, but I'm having a bit of a wobble now and want to be confident in my course.

Thank you in advance! :confused
southernlucky

Re: Lifestrategy Growth in Taxable Brokerage

Post by southernlucky »