Portfolio advice for a Tico [Costa Rica]

For investors outside the US. Personal investments, personal finance, investing news and theory.
Sister forums: Canada, Spain (en español)
---------------
Topic Author
bojackHorseman

Portfolio advice for a Tico [Costa Rica]

Post by bojackHorseman »

Country of Residence: Costa Rica

International Lifestyle: I do not expect to move out from Costa Rica or pass a very prolonged amount of time in any other country.

Currency: USD

Emergency funds: 3 Months of my salary

Debt: I have a student loan that it's in CRC, currently my balance is of approximately $13,024.47 USD (exchanged from CRC), it has an annual interest rate of 4,5% and I pay approximately $114.74 (exchanged from CRC) per month, the debt is for 14 years and I have been paying for 14 months.

Desired Asset allocation: 77% stocks / 23% bonds
Desired allocation to stocks outside your of country of residence: 77% of stocks

I don't have any investments yet.

Here in Costa Rica I have an state pension that me and my employer (and future employers) contribute to which it will be available for me at 65 years old and after a certain amount of quotas, these quotas are paid by my salary wages automatically alongside some other accounts that I also contribute in small amounts automatically and will receive after being unemployed or I can hold them until I have my pension.

Current assets

I have my savings in a regular savings account. On this account I have less that $7000 to invest as a lump sum, the other part of my money is for the emergency fund. I also have another account which is my everyday spending money which is my salary minus what I save each month, I save around 30% of my salary. Besides that I have no CD's or hold special kind of accounts.

Future planned investments?

By using BogleBot and reading related books, the Bogleheads wiki and such I have come by the basic portfolio of:
  • iShares Core Global Aggregate Bond UCITS ETF USD Hedged Acc (AGGU)