Questions about installing a new EV charger in my garage

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
lkjhj

Questions about installing a new EV charger in my garage

Post by lkjhj »

I ordered a Lucid Air (which I'm still not certain I will take delivery of, but if I don't I will get some other EV) and I need to figure out what kind of charger to have in my garage. I've got zero EV experience, so I just want to get some help figuring this out.

1. What brand of charger should I get? I've heard good things about chargepoint and juicebox. Any other brands to consider? I assume these chargers will plug into the standard a J-1772 port and that any EV that I end up with (including a Tesla) could use this charger. Is that correct?

2. Hardwired or plug in? I really only desire level 2 charging at home, I would not need anything more than that. I also have no interest in bidirectional capabilities as I have a home backup generator. It's going to be in my garage. For those reason I'm thinking I should do plug in.

3. If I do plug in, what kind of plug should I get. NEMA 14-50 is what I'm thinking? Also what brand/model on the outlet fixture. I hear this can make a difference
mervinj7

Re: Questions about installing a new EV charger in my garage

Post by mervinj7 »

Have an electrician install a NEMA 14-50 outlet for now. Your lucid comes with a 40A mobile charging unit that plugs in. See if it works out for you. If not, decide later what to get.

https://www.lucidmotors.com/charging

Edit: as others have suggested, get an heavy duty 14-50 outlet and upsize the wire gauge in case you want to hardware to a higher current limit in the future.
Hubbell Wiring Device-Kellems 50 A, Industrial, Receptacle, Black, No Tamper Resistant HBL9450A - 1 Each https://a.co/d/hfQGLzo
Last edited by mervinj7 on Tue Dec 06, 2022 12:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
WestCoastPhan