Ally 2% no penalty CD

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
anthonypals

Ally 2% no penalty CD

Post by anthonypals »

Ally just bumped up their no penalty CD to 2%. Seems like a good spot for the emergency fund. I’ve never used their CD before but seems pretty straight forward.
jebmke

Re: Ally 2% no penalty CD

Post by jebmke »

What are MM funds running at brokerages?
Don't trust me, look it up. https://www.irs.gov/forms-instructions-and-publications
cowbman

Post by cowbman »

A little above 2%, like 2.1-2.2%
the_wiki

Post by the_wiki »

Can get 2% normal savings account at E-trade or Wealthfront.
retired@50

Post by retired@50 »

Vanguard Federal Money Market Fund - the default for settlement accounts, is currently paying 2.11% (as of 8/15/2022).

Regards,
If liberty means anything at all it means the right to tell people what they do not want to hear. -George Orwell
MikeG62

Post by MikeG62 »

anthonypals wrote: Wed Aug 17, 2022 8:24 am Ally just bumped up their no penalty CD to 2%. Seems like a good spot for the emergency fund. I’ve never used their CD before but seems pretty straight forward.
It's good to see that the NP CD rate has finally exceeded the high yield savings account rate.

For someone who wants to hold excess cash at a bank, this is obviously a better option than their high yield savings account.

However, one can do better in a prime MMF at a broker (like FZDXX or SRPXX at Fidelity or VMFXX at Vanguard). My excess cash is in FZDXX.
Real Knowledge Comes Only From Experience
the_wiki

Post by the_wiki »

My only issue with the money market funds is that my broker (E*Trade) charges me a $50 trade fee on mutual funds held less than 90 days from first purchase. So I’m hesitant to park my emergency fund there and lose a month's interest if I have to pull out some money next month.