Any Boglehead musicians out there?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
Jazztonight

Any Boglehead musicians out there?

Post by Jazztonight »

Calling all Bogleheads who are serious amateur or professional musicians!

The backstory: I've been a musician my entire life, studied privately on a number of instruments (guitar, piano, and later saxophone), and was a bandleader playing for events (e.g. weddings) for over 15 years (that was not my primary profession or means of making a living).

When I was 55 I semi-retired and went back to college for a BA in Music Composition. I've composed a lot of stuff along the way.

When I retired at 66 I took up the flute as a "retirement project" and joined a community concert band. Just before the pandemic began, I switched to the trombone, and now play in a concert band that started up again a few months ago. I'm the music director and piano accompanist for a jazz/pop vocalist. We entertain regularly at retirement facilities and House Concerts.

Music is, I've read, one of several activities that keep our mind and ourselves going (foreign language study and physical activity are others). I practice 1+ hours every day.

So I'm curious. Who else plays, studies, practices, and works on their musical skills?
"What does not destroy me, makes me stronger." Nietzsche
JupiterJones

Re: Any Boglehead musicians out there?

Post by JupiterJones »

[raises hand] Me!

I went to a music college right out of high school, dropped out, moved to Nashville, and worked as a professional musician for several years. Mostly touring gigs for various major-label artists. Even at that level, it wasn't the most lucrative endeavor in the world, so I eventually shifted gears into a different career.