Inflation adjusted - real return

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
Dsc8

Inflation adjusted - real return

Post by Dsc8 »

Hi everybody,

I'm a beginner, and there is an aspect of investing and inflation which is not clear to me, and I need some help to understand it better. I have very big confusion, and I know that I don't understand many things, so perhaps some lines are without sense. I apologize.

Let's assume, that I invest $1million in ETF VT. The hypothetical price per share is $50.

In the first year, the return is 10%. Also, the inflation is 3%. Inflation adjusted is more or less 7% return. Let's assume that I spent all 10% of returns and at the end of the year I left with nothing. I did not reinvest anything.
For 10 years, the scenario is the same.
What happens on 11th year?

My concerns are this:
- I didn't reinvest anything, does my purchase power on 11th year is lower that in the first year? (because the inflation now is 30% higher than before, but my initial $1million is still the same together with $50 per share?) Does the price per share grew up meanwhile, and consequently my initial $1m is way bigger, and my 10% return is adjusted base on the higher capital and therefore my purchase power it is still the same?
- I do not understand if with ETF stocks, to maintain at least the same purchase power, I suppose to reinvest part of returns in order to stay even with inflation. But an ETF stocks is not cash, it is supposed to grow up in price per share. But then again, the total return are dividends + share price increase and since I spend all the returns, I'm afraid that my ETF's price per share remain the same as at the beginning, although it doesn't make sense.