Tax loss harvesting Mega Backdoor

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
southbogle

Tax loss harvesting Mega Backdoor

Post by southbogle »

First of all, apologies if I am totally off on something. This is my first year doing a Mega Backdoor since joining a company that offers this possibility. Over this year 2022 I have contributed the maximum I can to the After tax 401K. The plan does offer in service withdrawal but only once a year. So I decided to invest the contributions instead of keeping it in cash.

Now due to the way the market has crashed this year, the After tax 401K has lost quite a bit of value. I am wondering if I can do something like TLH in this case.

Total contributions to After Tax 401K: 40K
Current value of After Tax 401k: 34K

I plan to start contributing again next year to the After Tax to max out the contributions. My question is if I do the Roth conversion now (leave say $100 in the After tax) whether I can "harvest" the 6K of losses from this year to offset growth next year (if it happens). e.g. If I invest 40K next year and it grows to 46K can I convert the whole 46K tax free?
muffins14

Re: Tax loss harvesting Mega Backdoor

Post by muffins14 »

These funds are inside your 401k, not a taxable account, so , to the best of my knowledge, there is no notion of capital gains/losses for you to exploit to do TLH with
Last edited by muffins14 on Thu May 19, 2022 9:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
Crom laughs at your Four Winds
livesoft

Post by livesoft »

No, you cannot. Tax-loss harvesting is not something done in tax-advantaged accounts.
Wiki This signature message sponsored by sscritic: Learn to fish.
neurosphere

Post by neurosphere »

The short answer is no, you can't really take advantage of losses which happen in a tax-advantaged account. Similar to if those contributions had been made as pre-tax contributions.