With my cash, Y not 6mo T-bills?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
rosalee

With my cash, Y not 6mo T-bills?

Post by rosalee »

I look at 6 month T-bills paying 1.49%. If i buy some of those, starting on different dates, then as each matures and is re-invested at the new (maybe increased) rate, then such a plan seems more productive than anything else i can think of. But i'm kinda new to all this so i might be missing some important feature.

I have an account with TD and already own one I-bond at 7+%. Just leaving my cash in CapOne savings at 0.05% will not offer much benefit. With this money i do not need any risk. I could scrape up $20K for this plan over the next 8 months. And since one of these bonds is always approaching maturity, if i needed some spending cash, just sell one bond.

A reasonable plan, IYO? (in your opinion)
student

Re: With my cash, Y not 6mo T-bills?

Post by student »

Sounds fine. I do want to mention that 0.05% at Capital One Savings? At least switch to its HYSA at 0.6%. https://www.capitalone.com/bank/savings ... s-account/
Mr. Potter

Post by Mr. Potter »

Sounds like a good plan, also, Live Oak Bank is paying .8% on their HYSA, always at or near the best rates.
smectym

Post by smectym »

rosalee wrote: Thu May 19, 2022 6:55 am I look at 6 month T-bills paying 1.49%. If i buy some of those, starting on different dates, then as each matures and is re-invested at the new (maybe increased) rate, then such a plan seems more productive than anything else i can think of. But i'm kinda new to all this so i might be missing some important feature.