Preparing for Tax Loss Harvesting

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Cram

Preparing for Tax Loss Harvesting

Post by Cram »

Hello,

I'm a long time reader, but haven't had a question in a long time since setting up our investment plan back in 2017 (Thanks again). However, with current market conditions, TLH seems to be the flavor of the day and I would like to take a shot at it if possible. This is my first time looking into it and I want to make sure that I understand the rules properly before inadvertently triggering a wash sale.

Since January 2022, we have incurred a roughly $10k loss from our VTIAX fund located in our brokerage account. I would like to book the loss and exchange the fund for VFWAX. Yesterday, I stopped automatic reinvestment of dividends and confirmed that the last dividend were reinvested in March 2022 for both the Roth account and brokerage account. I currently hold VTIAX in my Roth account (funded in January 2022), but have not contributed to VTIAX since the dividends were reinvested in March 2022.

1. Can I still proceed with TLH and exchange VTIAX for VFWAX in our brokerage account even though I own VTIAX in my Roth account?

For clarity, please see below our current investment portfolio:

His 403B: VIIIX, VIEIX and VBTLX
Her 401K: FXAIX and FSMAX

His Roth IRA: VTIAX, VGSLX (Funded in January 2022 with last dividend reinvested on 3/18/22)
Her Roth IRA: SCHH, SCHA, SWTSX

His and Hers HSA: VTSAX

Joint Brokerage Account: VTSAX and VTIAX (VTIAX last bought in February 2022 with last dividend reinvested on 3/18/22)

Thank you for sharing your wisdom and helping me further my financial literacy.
student

Re: Preparing for Tax Loss Harvesting

Post by student »

Yes. You can since your last purchase across all account is from March.

Edit: Don't buy it back within the next 30 days after you harvested...
rkhusky

Post by rkhusky »