Social security survivor benefits for my mother?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
peche8

Social security survivor benefits for my mother?

Post by peche8 »

Hi everyone! I’m new to social security benefits and had some questions about when my mother should file. My father passed away unexpectedly in April. He was 62 and receiving disability benefits ($2,333/mo) at the time. My mom still works part-time for another family member. The original plan was for her to stop working at 65 and file for social security benefits when she reached 70 ($2,305/mo). But when I plugged in her info into opensocialsecurity.com, it said that she should file for retroactive survivor benefits now and then file for retirement benefits when she reaches 70.

1. Does this sound like the right advice or is there something I’m missing? (Part of the reason I’m confused is because I always heard it was best to wait until full retirement age. Also, I’m nervous that I haven’t considered how taking survivor benefits might impact her ACA health insurance and a smaller IRA account that I had planned to help her convert after she stopped working.)

2. Does it make a difference that my father was on disability benefits and not retirement benefits when he passed?

3. Would it be better for my mom to stop the part-time work altogether or reduce her hours? My mom earns $25K/year and likes the work. If she took survivor benefits, she could expect about $20K/year. I wonder if earning that much income while receiving survivor benefits would mean she’s taxed much more. (I only started helping my parents with their taxes last year so I’m new to taxes as well.) I could always help with the $5K difference, but I also want to factor in that working might be a good distraction right now and help my mom stay active/social.

Thank you all in advance!
BarbBrooklyn