Post your Financial Milestone Announcements Here

US Local Chapters, Wiki, and general Bogleheads community discussion, news, events, and announcements.
Topic Author
VAslim16

Milestone #2 250K

Post by VAslim16 »

Hi everybody,

Just wanted to post because I hit a mini milestone today. Checked my Vanguard account and my stock holdings were just over 100K. I know this is small for most people on here, but considering I started investing in March 2013 and don't make a huge salary (I'm a teacher) it's something I'm happy about. I will keep my overall portfolio at about 70/30 stock to bond and keep using VTI/VXUS at a 50/50 ratio. Really appreciate all your guys' help on here and hope the next milestone, 200K for the whole portfolio, occurs by summer 2K18.

Thanks again guys. Now I probably jinxed things and will be back under 100K in a few hours when the market opens.
Last edited by VAslim16 on Sat Nov 09, 2019 8:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
RadAudit
Location: Second star on the right and straight on 'til morning

Re: Mini Milestone 100K

Post by RadAudit »

$100k isn't small. Congratulations.

And, don't worry about dropping below the number on market moves. I've been above and below my number more times than a yo-yo.
FI is the best revenge. LBYM. Invest the rest. Stay the course. Die anyway. - PS: The cavalry isn't coming, kids. You are on your own.
Dottie57

Post by Dottie57 »

Congrats! Not a mini milestone as it means you are on your way to a good retirement.
Artisan

Post by Artisan »

That's a big accomplishment. You should be proud of it!
knpstr

Post by knpstr »

$100,000 is not small at all!
Way to go!
:beer
Very little is needed to make a happy life; it is all within yourself, in your way of thinking. -Marcus Aurelius
dwickenh

Post by dwickenh »

Grats on the milestone, keep up the great savings rate- consistent savings is your best asset leading to retirement.

Dan