UAE Resident Questions - ETFs, estate tax and the like

For residents of the United Arab Emirates.
Topic Author
Joekh06

UAE Resident Questions - ETFs, estate tax and the like

Post by Joekh06 »

Hello!
I’ve been investing in US securities for the past 3 years through Schwab as an international investor and only recently came across topics related to NRAs and non-US domiciled ETFs. I know - but better late than never.

I’m based in the UAE and of Lebansese/Colombian nationality.

I’ve done a lot of research but i still have some questions that are open and i’m hoping some people on here can help clarify.

1. In terms of stocks specifically, those are exempt of capital gains tax.

2. I understand the taxes on dividends imposed on US-domiciled ETFs and the benefits of European/Ireland domiciled ETFs. One question that came up during a discussion with some friends was about the volume traded on such ETFs compared their US counterparts - are they equally liquid or does that point put non-US domiciled ETFs at a disadvantage?

3. Im not clear on the estate tax discussion related to $60K cash holding. As far as ive understood the main challenge for NRAs from a tax perspective is specific to dividends on stocks and ETFs. Is it correct to assume that stocks that dont pay dividends purchased through a US broker are exempt from this taxation discussion relevant to NRAs iNvesting In the US?

4. On the discussion of ETFs, it seems there is no replacement of VTI domiciled in Ireland. If you wish to invest in something likeable to VTI but domiciled outside the US, what would you recommend?

5. My current broker is Schwab but a lot of people opt for IB. I was turned off by IB based on management fees for accounts under $100K. Schwab does not trade in EU domiciled ETFs however. What’s the sentiment for a broker for a UAE investor?