new Boglehead trying to understand accumulating vs distributing ETFs

For residents of the United Arab Emirates.
Topic Author
sherzing

new Boglehead trying to understand accumulating vs distributing ETFs

Post by sherzing »

Hello,

I'm new to investing and try to get my head around accumulating vs distributing ETFs, but I struggle to understand if it fits my needs. My long term plan would be to live the distribution of the investment rather then selling it in around 20-30 years. My current strategy is to save and invest every 3 month to keep the brokerage fee and the account fee to a minimum with TD international.

I'm German living in Dubai where are no capital gain taxes as long as I live here, but in the future when I would change the country I will most likely have to pay taxes.

So far, I've been investing in VWRD as I thought it would be good to start and it was a common recommendation for a lazy portfolio. With this, every 3 month dividend is paid out, but the dividends have a 15% tax. As I invest every 3 month, I can ignore the broker fee for reinvesting, as I would incur it anyway.

From my understanding, a distributing EFT has a fairly constant value and the gains are distributed. With this, I could just continue to buy more of the same ETF, would get more shares and over time more dividends paid by it. My assumption here is that the price of the ETF will be roughly constant.

Now I wonder, if I would invest in an accumulating ETF like IWDA, I would not have to pay the 15% taxes on the paid out dividends, but as the ETF itself gains value, it would be more expensive to buy over time. My train of thought is that I buy now for price X, but in 3 month I would have to pay the value of X plus the reinvested dividend (and more over time). Is this basic thought correct, or is the increased price not important when it's seen over a longer period of time?