Live off portfolio NOW (non US)

For residents of the United Arab Emirates.
Topic Author
ebblv

Live off portfolio NOW (non US)

Post by ebblv »

- I am not a US citizen.
- I was a temporary resident, but soon I will be living in the Dubai, UAE which does not have any taxes.
- I want to setup a passive investment portfolio that I'd like to live off starting now.
- I want to minimize dividends and other US taxable income, I will pay flat 30% taxes on those. W8-BEN-E will apply.
- I want to prefer capital gains as they are tax free for me.
- I want to plan to remove 2.5% of current asset value every year.
- I want to adjust for 3% inflation every year.
- A 5% return post expenses & taxes will sustain me for 50+ years. Obviously I'd like more return and more years ;)

- I will setup a company for my holdings and invest via the company to avoid estate taxes in the event of my death.
- I will keep 3 years of my yearly expenses in cash. Each year I will withdraw one more years projected usage to keep this current.

- At a high level, I think I need a 4 fund style portfolio. But I'm wary of the risk of putting a lot of my savings in a single fund and wondering if I should be splitting it across many funds of a similar category.
- What funds are good for my case?
- What should I be reviewing and how often once I setup this up?
- How often should I rebalance?
- Is there anything special I should/can do to insure my investments?

- I think I should use Interactive Brokers to manage my investments since it seems like the easiest way to invest as a non US resident.

- This is my very first pass and I'm terribly unsure, but I think I should do:
45% VUSD -- Expense Ratio: 0.07%
25% VGTSX -- Expense Ratio: 0.18%
20% VBMFX -- Expense Ratio: 0.16%
10% BNDX -- Expense Ratio: 0.15%

-- a n00b
Watty

Re: Live off portfolio NOW (non US)

Post by Watty »

It would be good to edit your post and add the fund names instead of just the ticker symbols.