Irish-Resident but non-domicile (non-US Citizen) - Most Efficient Investment Approach?

For investors outside the US. Personal investments, personal finance, investing news and theory.
Sister forums: Canada, Spain (en español)
---------------
Topic Author
IMightBeRight

Irish-Resident but non-domicile (non-US Citizen) - Most Efficient Investment Approach?

Post by IMightBeRight »

Hello I'm an Irish resident (Lebanese domicile) and between myself and wife we have investment capacity of 350K-500K EUR. Given that I'm a non-domicile in Ireland that gives us a great advantage for EU ETFs (non-Irish domicile) but no access to US-domicile ETFs. It seems that you can technically buy non-EU funds but it will have lots of complications. Complications wealth managers can sort out for you through offshore setup but will mean 1% of the fund value plus whatever custodian/platform they will use.

I think I could still utilize all-world and EU ETFs and not remit to Ireland and still make good returns. Especially given we are covered for all our expenses and more from our Irish Salaries. Now it is just a matter of figuring out if a simple portfolio (as mentioned in this sentence) would suffice or working with a knowledgeable wealth manager could "unlock" more opportunities and hence yield higher return (for the long run) that would justify their fees. Any reading materials and thoughts would be really apprecaited.
TedSwippet

Re: Irish-Resident but non-domicile (non-US Citizen) - Most Efficient Investment Approach?

Post by TedSwippet »

Welcome.
IMightBeRight wrote: Fri Sep 24, 2021 10:05 am Hello I'm an Irish resident (Lebanese domicile) and between myself and wife we have investment capacity of 350K-500K EUR. Given that I'm a non-domicile in Ireland ...
If you haven't already found it, we have a wiki page for Irish investors:

Investing from Ireland - Bogleheads