Can US-UK citizen resident in UK set up a Roth IRA?

For investors outside the US. Personal investments, personal finance, investing news and theory.
Sister forums: Canada, Spain (en español)
---------------
Topic Author
RothIRAHelp

Can US-UK citizen resident in UK set up a Roth IRA?

Post by RothIRAHelp »

I am a US-UK citizen resident in the UK. I have a Vanguard US brokerage account which I use to purchase ETFs with UK HMRC reporting status (VOO and VTI).

I was recently told I should set up a Roth IRA for the tax benefits. My question is: can I set up a US Roth IRA, or will this be subject to taxation by the UK?

Many thanks for help and advice!
TedSwippet

Re: Can US-UK citizen resident in UK set up a Roth IRA?

Post by TedSwippet »

Welcome.
RothIRAHelp wrote: Sun Sep 19, 2021 2:55 pm My question is: can I set up a US Roth IRA, or will this be subject to taxation by the UK?
Roth IRAs are protected from UK tax under the US/UK treaty, specifically article 18 paragraph 1 and article 17 paragraph 1(b). (Note the asymmetry -- UK ISAs are not protected from US tax.)

How do you plan to fund this IRA? As I understand it, it can be difficult if you use the FEIE to reduce or eliminate US tax on your UK earnings. Explained somewhat in the article linked below. I'm not a US citizen, so no direct experience.

IRA Contribution Rules for Expats Explained
occambogle

Post by occambogle »

Also, if you are a higher-income person and not directly eligible to contribute to a Roth IRA directly because of that, you can also look at whether you may be eligible to contribute to a Backdoor Roth....

https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Backdoor_Roth
tubaleiter

Post by tubaleiter »

Yes, you can set up a Roth IRA and it will be protected from UK tax by the US/UK tax treaty. A few challenges/caveats: