IBKR - which trading platform do you use?

For investors outside the US. Personal investments, personal finance, investing news and theory.
Sister forums: Canada, Spain (en español)
---------------
Topic Author
Vogatrice

IBKR - which trading platform do you use?

Post by Vogatrice »

New to IBKR and trying to do a few very simple trades. The order entry page looks overly simplistic, doesn't show current market data and keeps giving me a number of obscure error message. Or obscure to me, I don't understand them. So far, I have failed six times to get a limit order put through. When I go the the Learn videos, all it shows me is TWS (Traders' Workstation) which is not what I'm seeing. I have an account with the European entity of IBKR, based in Hungary.

I'm not a completely novice online trader but their interface is not making much sense to me and the TWS seems overly complicated for my simple needs (buying a few ETFs.)

Which trading platform do you use, why did you choose it, and do you have any tips for me on how to buy ETFs through IBKR?

Thanks
Fat Tails

Re: IBKR - which trading platform do you use?

Post by Fat Tails »

To me, the IBKR mobile app is not intuitive and I have had some of the same issues as you. I use the web version on a Windows machine which I like much better. I decline the caution messages during the order placement and dont find them of any use. I place my orders in the afternoon when there is less price volatility. I usually use the “Limit using the mid-price” (between the bid and the ask), which usually get filled quickly at good prices it seems.

I like the TDAmeritrade user interface, but after having more experience with IBKR, I now prefer IBKR over TDAmeritrade.

Cheers
“Doing well with money has little to do with how smart you are and a lot to do with how you behave.” - Morgan Housel
AlohaJoe

Post by AlohaJoe »