Portfolio advice - Bulgaria

For investors outside the US. Personal investments, personal finance, investing news and theory.
Sister forums: Canada, Spain (en español)
---------------
Topic Author
barbapapa

Portfolio advice - Bulgaria

Post by barbapapa »

Country of Residence: Bulgaria
International Lifestyle: Move to another country is not expected
Currency: EUR
Emergency funds: 2 years
Debt: No dept
Desired Asset allocation: 70% stocks / 30% bonds (not sure)

Hi, I am new to investing (zero experience) and decided it's finally time to change this. It's better late than never! I spent maybe 7-8 hours in the forum but the information is overwhelming. I would need an advice about the following portfolio:

1. 30% Global Aggregate Bond UCITS ETF EUR Hedged Accumulating (VAGF)
2. 40% S&P 500 UCITS ETF (VUAG) Accumulating
3. 20% FTSE Developed World UCITS ETF (VHVE) Accumulating
4. 10% FTSE Emerging Markets UCITS ETF (VFEA) Accumulating

I have a plan to invest a lump sum + monthly payments for a period of at least 10 years.

2. Should I prefer EU exchanges to London/Swiss? I couldn't find a definitive answer if they are "safer" or cheaper when buying ETFs. My account is in Interactive brokers if it matters.
tre3sori

Re: Portfolio advice - Bulgaria

Post by tre3sori »

Make your life easier with:
70% Vanguard FTSE All-World UCITS ETF (VWCE)
30% Vanguard Global Aggregate Bond UCITS ETF EUR Hedged Accumulating (VAGF)

ad 1. too complicated for my taste. USA make up for 64% of FTSE Developed World. So substantial overlapp with S&P 500. If you want to make it so complicated/try to get the lowest TER possible, a Vanguard FTSE Developed Europe UCITS ETF would make more sense next to S&P 500 and FTSE Emerging Markets. But Japan and Pacific ex Japan region would still be missing.

ad 2. if you trade EUR denominated funds, there is more trading volume/lower spread on EU exchanges like XETRA, EURONEXT, etc