[Greece] Combine FTSE All-World (VWCE) with S&P 500(VUSA)?

For investors outside the US. Personal investments, personal finance, investing news and theory.
Sister forums: Canada, Spain (en español)
---------------
Topic Author
alepou

[Greece] Combine FTSE All-World (VWCE) with S&P 500(VUSA)?

Post by alepou »

Hi.

My name is Dimi , i am 37 years old currently living in Greece (Greek nationality) and i just started getting into ETFs investments. I am very new to this and still educating myself even for the basic terminologies.

I would like to make a long-term low risk investment. That been said, with what i read so far best "bet" are ETFs so what i have in mind is to reserve a portion of my salary to buy every moth a pice of the following ETFs:

Vanguard FTSE All-World UCITS ETF USD Acc
Vanguard S&P 500 UCITS ETF USD

Is there any "issue" (for instance overlap) that a rookie like me cannot foresee with the above ETF combination?

Thanks
D.
Valuethinker

Re: [Greece] Combine FTSE All-World (VWCE) with S&P 500(VUSA)?

Post by Valuethinker »

alepou wrote: Wed Jun 02, 2021 5:50 am Hi.

My name is Dimi , i am 37 years old currently living in Greece (Greek nationality) and i just started getting into ETFs investments. I am very new to this and still educating myself even for the basic terminologies.

I would like to make a long-term low risk investment. That been said, with what i read so far best "bet" are ETFs so what i have in mind is to reserve a portion of my salary to buy every moth a pice of the following ETFs:

Is there any "issue" (for instance overlap) that a rookie like me cannot foresee with the above ETF combination?

Thanks
D.
Yes.

About 55%, by value, of the FTSE All-World index is accounted for by US stocks - basically by the members of the S&P 500.

Thus you are doubling up on the USA.

There's no reason to do so given you do not live in the USA and have no long term ties there.