Making sense of my housing options [Central / Eastern Europe]

For investors outside the US. Personal investments, personal finance, investing news and theory.
Sister forums: Canada, Spain (en español)
---------------
Topic Author
AFKmike

Making sense of my housing options [Central / Eastern Europe]

Post by AFKmike »

Hi BHs!

I'm in a bit of a puzzle and could use some advice or a bystander's take on this.

I'm 26, earning a good salary with a secure job. Located in Central/Eastern Europe. I'm Able to save 80-90% of my income in my current situation. I'm also currently holding more than 90% of my assets in cash as I've been saving up for a down payment for 2-3 years. Me and my partner are now ready to buy our own apartment... but the housing market is crazy and the alternative to buying - investing all of the down payment at ATH doesn't make sense as well if we were to need this money in 2-5 years.

Local housing market background: prices have more than doubled since 2010. In normal market conditions, buying is almost always better than renting where I live, even if you plan to stay for 1 year (no property tax, non-existent closing costs, low maintenance fees). For example, if I were to stay for 3 years, renting would start make sense if housing depreciates more than 1% YoY.

Current housing situation: we are WFH and living in a MCOL areas with 2,5h commute to my work (my work is in HCOL area) when I'm needed at the office. I'm currently living in a spacious apartment that hasn't been revonated for more than 40 years. Due do this, rent is incredibly low (less than 3% of my take-home pay). This also means quality of life is low and there are some health concerns (quality of air, mold has been building up in some moist areas (bathroom)).

Future: we plan to work in the HCOL area for the next 2-5 years after which we would like to settle down in the MCOL area where I'm currently living.

My options are to: