Fidelity 401k And W-8BEN

For investors outside the US. Personal investments, personal finance, investing news and theory.
Sister forums: Canada, Spain (en español)
---------------
Topic Author
mrploppy

Fidelity 401k And W-8BEN

Post by mrploppy »

I'm a UK citizen and resident and filed a W-8BEN with Fidelity in the hope that they wouldn't withhold tax from any withdrawals from my 401k. They assured me that this would be the case when I filed the form. Well, on a sample of one withdrawal, this has failed miserably. The person on the phone insisted that they had to withhold 30% - and even went away and checked. I asked him, if that's the case, what's the point of the the W8-BEN, to which he said "that's a very good question".

Anyone else had this happen with Fidelity? If so, is there any recourse? Surely, they are wrong to withhold tax on periodic withdrawals if there's a tax treaty in place with the foreign country in question (in this case the UK)?
Dottie57

Re: Fidelity 401k And W-8BEN

Post by Dottie57 »

A link to the US IRS form

https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw8ben.pdf

I think OP needs to talk to a supervisor or higher level mgmt. perhaps an advisor could help if OP has one.
Topic Author
mrploppy

Post by mrploppy »

Thanks. As stated, I've already submitted a W-8BEN to Fidelity. They actually sent it to me in the first place, and now they've chosen to effectively ignore it.

I'll speak to them again tomorrow and try and get some sense from someone who actually knows the score.
BeBH65

Post by BeBH65 »

One use of the W8BEN for non-us residents is to lower the dividend-witholding tax from the default 30% to a lower % as per the applicable tax-treaty (often 15%).

Taxation of the withdrawals from a tax advantaged account are something different, where the W8Ben might or might not lower the taxation.

I am sure some people with experience will join this thread.