Work a desk job but hate sitting, how to fix

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
femmefire

Work a desk job but hate sitting, how to fix

Post by femmefire »

I'm a software engineer and while I find the work mentally stimulating, I HATE sitting/standing at a desk and that my job requires me to be attached to a computer all the time. This dislike has gotten much worse during the pandemic since I have everything I need nearby (my bathroom and coffee is steps away). I'm an introvert so I don't need much conversation but zoom is just not doing it for me. I would like to interact with people a bit more and also move a lot more. I've tried a standing desk, stretching my legs, and I have consistent running schedule, but it's not enough. Think of me like a vizsla or belgian malinois, a breed that needs a lot of exercise. I'm not willing to make a move to something that pays a lot less. Tell me your stories. Did you make a lateral move or a complete career change?
Californiastate

Re: Work a desk job but hate sitting, how to fix

Post by Californiastate »

I am a retire plumber. I worked construction my whole life. I worked outside in temps from the 20sF to 110F. I didn't have a choice if I wanted to eat. My current chair isn't perfect but it's better than doing groundwork in the winter or topout when it's 107F. As a suggestion for you, get a treadmill.
Teague

Post by Teague »

I feel your pain(s). I had the same issue.

I also tried the standing desk, etc. I never found a great solution other than retiring after 20 years of frustration. Good luck.
Semper Augustus
DoTheMath

Post by DoTheMath »

I would suggest trying a treadmill desk. I have one and it is amazing the difference it makes, even if I only spend an hour of the day actually using it. My main complaint is that I use it less than I ought to due to general laziness. But I'm always glad I did afterwords.