How do I enter the workforce after 16 years?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
luckybamboo

How do I enter the workforce after 16 years?

Post by luckybamboo »

Hello BH
I decided to quit my job in 2004 within information systems division of a megacorp to be a full time mother. Both of my children are in college now. DH wants to either take a sabbatical or wants to do freelancing as he is burnt out from high stress job. We have no debt and enough financial cushion to pay our bills for 18 months. The only concern is healthcare insurance.
I have a masters in computer science and information systems but my skills are dated.
What are my options for going back to workforce to get a job with benefits like health insurance?
What education/skills can I build relatively quickly?
What kind of jobs would consider me given the large gap in employment?
TIA
Afty

Re: How do I enter the workforce after 16 years?

Post by Afty »

Facebook/Meta has a Return To Work program for people who have been away from work for 2 or more years: https://www.facebookcareers.com/faceboo ... rk/?page=1
Jablean

Post by Jablean »

Get on LinkedIn - you'll have to create your own profile. Look up some companies that you might be interested in and pull up profiles of some of their workers. They'll list some of their skills, programming languages, etc and it will give you an idea of what is in common use.

See if you have a local Women in Technology chapter - search on facebook, talk to the state Women's Business Center (they'll often work together). Find your state's Million Women Mentors leaders (state list here https://mwm.stemconnector.com/states-initiative/) They'll have contacts for women in STEM groups.