Can anyone help me find a solution to my QCD problem?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
privateID

Can anyone help me find a solution to my QCD problem?

Post by privateID »

My mother-in-law is 86 years old and I manage her money for her. I've been doing this for a few years. This year we decided to dive into the world of Qualified Charitable Distributions (QCDs). We went through the current process on Vanguard:

1) Request a withdrawal to a charity. Need to do this from her account, although they told me on the phone if I had full agent authority I would be able to do this step myself (I am currently a partial agent). This is not a big deal for us.

2) They mail her a check in the mail to the charity c/o her address.

3) She gets the check in about week and then mails it to the organization.

I have no problem with step 1, but steps 2 and 3 are a problem as she is 86 years old. I have concerns about her losing mail and also have concerns about her properly sending it to the charity. I spoke to people at Vanguard and asked if we could get checks on her IRA account and just have her write a check directly to the charity. I can do that with her in one sitting. I don't live near her, but this would be tolerable. I was told by Vanguard that they do not offer that option. Since we could get check writing ability, not sure if I understand what they mean when they say they don't offer charitable giving that way. I believe we can just do it.

So, I am just looking for the easiest way to help my MIL make QCDs. We did a trial run for one QCD using Vanguard's method above. Still waiting for the check to appear in her mail. Anyone have other thoughts about how to do this?
dcnut

Re: Can anyone help me find a solution to my QCD problem?

Post by dcnut »