How to Deal with Incoming Low Ball Promotion Offer

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
Patzer

How to Deal with Incoming Low Ball Promotion Offer

Post by Patzer »

I am an manager and currently make X. I took a promotion quite some time ago, and am only going to finally get the raise in September to move up to 1.15X. I am doing well and on the path to become a Director and make 1.45-1.6X within 3 years if I stay the course, because I have a rock solid reputation.

A SVP asked to meet with me and asked me to run a new department we are creating. The nature of this department is that it will be lower paying.
I laid out my current career path, and why it didn't really make sense for me to take on the challenge.
We discussed it and we agreed that I would be a good fit to lead the department, but that the title would have to be a Director level title and come with Director level pay in order for it to be a good career move for me.

They agreed, and frankly, I thought they would come back with something like 1.35X and I would have to negotiate up to 1.45X. Enough to make it worth it.

I hear that the offer that is being prepared is for 1.2X. Obviously, I am going to say no to that.

My question is, do I try to intervene now, and send them an email reminding them of my salary expectations, or do I wait until they present the terrible offer.

Reaching out to remind them of my salary expectations might be seen as too aggressive... but trying to negotiate up from 1.2X to 1.45X is going to be very hard.

Updated
viewtopic.php?p=6241834#p6241834
If you don't want to read the long post, we settled on 1.36X.
Last edited by Patzer on Thu Sep 23, 2021 11:26 pm, edited 3 times in total.
soitgoes2

Re: How to Deal with Incoming Low Ball Promotion Offer

Post by soitgoes2 »