Transitioning to part-time contract work?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
WarpSpeed

Transitioning to part-time contract work?

Post by WarpSpeed »

I'm looking to learn from the experiences of those who have made the transition from full time work to part-time contracting. Here's the situation:
  1. I work in the tech industry for a Megacorp.
  2. I'm in my mid-forties. So is my wife.
  3. I'm at the point in my life where I want more control over how I spend my time.
  4. My kids are in high school and college. All college savings are complete.
  5. I'm not ready to retire--I still enjoy most aspects of my work, but I would just like to work less (and be paid less, of course).
  6. I'm financially stable, no debt, though not quite what I would consider financially independent yet if I want to maintain lifestyle through retirement.
This is not really a financial decision (of course it plays a part), but more of a lifestyle decision. I would like to understand from those who have already gone this route what a transition into contract work might look like.

Ideally, I would like to work full-time for several months at a time. But then I could take 1-2 months before I started my next contract.

What are the practical aspects that I need to be thinking about? Would I start my own LLC? I assume medical insurance would be whatever I can find on healthcare.gov? Will I be constantly "looking for work"? I don't think there will be trouble finding work--my skills are in demand. But I realize there would be some uncertainty as to when the next paycheck would come in. I'm OK with this.

I'm just barely starting to explore this option, so don't necessarily even know what questions to ask yet. If anyone has experience they're willing to share, I would appreciate it.
namajones

Re: Transitioning to part-time contract work?

Post by namajones »