I've lost my motivation

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
jbreittling

I've lost my motivation

Post by jbreittling »

This past year+ has really taken a toll on my mental and physical health.

I have a fairly stressful job in IT where I support clients in three different time zones. The work is chaos at best and the pressure to always be available is unrelenting. I'm a contractor, so my pay is good but no benefits.

My mother has Alzheimer's Dementia (she'll be 82 this week) and my older brother is in poor health and requires quite a bit of help. I'm his source of help. My brother and I have been splitting duties trying to keep mom in her home - she's sound mind enough to know she doesn't want to go to a nursing home (we tried, and she cried for 9 days straight, asking why we were punishing her/sending her away to die). It was too much - we couldn't take the guilt so we brought her back to her home. So now we do what we can to find care for her while we both work our FT jobs - and we care for her at night and weekends and when the week day help is unavailable, I pack up my laptop and work from her house after getting her up in the morning, dressed, fed, and situated (then later lunch, bathroom visits, etc). We are not a wealthy family by any stretch so we can't afford to pay for more than 8hrs of care/day (and it's a family friend, so we are getting a pretty steep discount when compared to professional services).

I've found that I've completely lost my motivation for not only work, but for really any activity that requires effort. What I'd like to do is leave my current gig and find a low-stress government job with good benefits. I'm fine with taking a cut in pay. I want less responsibility and a routine schedule with routine work.