Start up CFO compensation

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
Bb073084

Start up CFO compensation

Post by Bb073084 »

I have been approached a few times about start up CFO roles for post series B heathcare tech companies. The opportunities are usually with well funded and well connected organizations. Revenues have ranged from $50M - $150M all with strong YoY growth. I was curious what typical compensation would look like for such roles. Below are my thoughts but not sure:

Base - $300-400k
Bonus - 30-50%
Equity - 1-2%
Location - east and west coast

I am not sure on how common an employment contract would be for this level and key terms such as severance, length, accelerated vesting terms, etc… would be and hoped to receive some advice.

I have about 14 years experience in accounting and finance. I spent a fair amount of time at a very successful start up as the number 2 to the CFO.

Any feedback or examples would be appreciated!
dcw213

Re: Start up CFO compensation

Post by dcw213 »

Your numbers seem reasonable to me. Friend of mine is a CFO for a midsize organization in a different, more established, and likely less lucrative industry and is a hair under your base comp with a 50% bonus.
WapelloHawk

Post by WapelloHawk »

Since when is $100mm in revenue a startup? Inflation really is rampant.

Anyway, regarding CFO comp, I would kind of cop out and say it depends on the type of CFO role and organization:

Higher pay scale: major personal involvement in acquisitions oriented growth, partner to CEO, plan to raise additional capital, etc.

Lower pay scale: operations focused company, strong experienced CEO already in place, self funding business through current operating cash flow.

For a $100mm rev company, your estimated numbers would lean more towards the higher pay scale in my experience.