Roll-over non-COLA pension lump sum into 401(k) or IRA?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
Johnny_Excitement

Roll-over non-COLA pension lump sum into 401(k) or IRA?

Post by Johnny_Excitement »

Hello,

I'd like to get some advice from folks here.

Here's my current situation:
Single, no kids
$160/year base salary (can get more with OT and bonuses)
401(K): $1 million
IRAs: $38K
Current investment style: 90/10 (aggressive, but I'm comfortable with it.) <-- this can change
Pension from former employer: $12,240/year starting at age 65 with no COLA
No debt, aside from $249K left on mortgage (~$150K in equity)

I like what I do for a living and plan on working until I'm at least 65. I might keep it going until 67.

The pension listed above will start in 9 years when I turn 65 and has no cost of living adjustment. It'll always be $1020/month until I die.
However, I can get a pension lump sum payment today for about $111,400. I'd like to hear your thoughts on rolling the pension lump sum into one of my IRAs or my 401(K). Assuming the stock market doesn't tank horribly, I think I can do much better putting that money into index funds. While my current investment style is aggressive for my age, I will eventually make it more conservative. Maybe go to 70/30 or even 60/40 within the next few years (or sooner?).

What are your thoughts on this? Should I just keep the pension knowing that I'll always get a humble/modest monthly payment (with no COLA) or should I put that money into index funds (stocks and bonds) with the goal of at least an 8% rate of return?
RyeBourbon

Re: Roll-over non-COLA pension lump sum into 401(k) or IRA?

Post by RyeBourbon »

That lump sum number sounds a bit low to me. I am about the same age as you, had a pension that would pay about 20% of yours and my lump sum that I took at the end of 2020 was about $33k.