Seeking general advice; turning 33 in a couple months

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
tugofpeace2

Seeking general advice; turning 33 in a couple months

Post by tugofpeace2 »

Hello all. I come from a pretty rough financial background and haven't made the best decisions in my youth, but am finally seeing some light at the end of the tunnel. I'm trying to figure out what I could be doing better as I enter into my mid 30s. My background is pretty unfortunate - I was pushed into a major in college that I wasn't interested in and prepared for, and subsequently took longer to graduate than I should have. I ended up with $186,000 of student loan debt at 8% interest; my degree was in electrical engineering, albeit from a very good school (non ivy).

Upon graduation my salary was $63,000 in the engineering field. 9 years later, my salary has grown to $110,000, and now I am fully remote. Currently 32 years old, and single, moved in with parents late last year to save money while COVID was going on. Prior to that, I was living in a major city downtown. I definitely should have saved more when I was younger, but I was literally choked financially; paid $1250/month in interest on that student loan the first 4 years before I made a large down payment and refinanced it. Once I did that I had some financial freedom so I increased the cost of my lifestyle.