Roth conversion "cost" in ARP tax credits

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
GeekGal

Roth conversion "cost" in ARP tax credits

Post by GeekGal »

Dear BH,
I am planning for tax year 2021 and trying to figure out how much in tax credits a conversion to Roth IRA may cost me given the recently passed American Rescue Plan (ARP). Below is my estimate, but would appreciate any insight you have since I am still learning about taxes.
Thank you so much.
-GeekGal

Tax Year 2021: Last year as Qualifying Widow
Two kids: Ages 6 and 2
AGI without tIRA conversion :$150k, may be up to $160k (which is a "cliff")
AGI w tIRA conversion: $240k

Child tax credit:
$200k threshold for QW without ARP (so the typical $4,000 child credit gets reduced after AGI exceeds $200k. For 2020 it was $1950 for me)
I am not sure if cut off with the ARP-related enhancements for Qualifying Widow cut off at the AGI level of $75k or $150k. Does anyone know?
Reading the actual law did not answer this for me, but I could have missed it.

Assuming cut off for QW is $150k AGI and not $75k, AGI of $150k means credit of: $6,600
AGI of $150k but no enhanced credit assuming threshold is $75k: $4,000
AGI of $240k: ~$1950 credit

Oddly, as others noted in another thread, the Kiplinger calculator yielded surprising results indicating I would receive a greater credit than I calculate.

Difference between three "options" is between $2050 and $4050

Childcare:
$5k (employer not increasing despite ARP)
Childcare costs greater than $16k annually

50% of $16k gets reduced after AGI more than $125k (by 1% for each $2k, up to $185k for “floor” of 20%) —-> rough 38% credit of $11k ($16k-$5k) = $4,180 if AGI is $150k
If AGI is $240k then 20% of $11k = $2,200
Difference : $1,980