Physician Practice Structure Help!

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
mdbravelion

Physician Practice Structure Help!

Post by mdbravelion »

Hi Bogleheads community,

Need some advice on setting up a business structure for a new primary care practice that I want to launch in the near future. Currently, I have income coming in to my name, MD as a 1099 from various hospitals for freelance work. I have setup a solo 401k and contribute to it regularly and max it out. I plan on continuing my freelance work which will be paid to my name as a 'sole proprietor' and will deposit these checks in my checking account as I have been doing for the past 5 years.

I want to launch a primary care practice, and I understand that taxes and business filing requirements can get very tedious/paperwork-heavy with certain setups without much benefit to the practice owner(s). I would like to start the practice with my wife who is also a physician. We are based in New Jersey. Most of the multi-group or partnership practices that I have seen in NJ are setup as P.A.'s. I'm not sure what the benefit is for the owners/physicians.

I was thinking to set it up as a multi-owner LLC (myself and DW). I understand that this can be taxed as an S-corp to save on payroll taxes. Can anybody chime in whether this is a good idea or not? Would a corporation, S or C corp, PC, or other entity a better setup? My goals are to:

1. Minimize paperwork going forward -
2. Maintain my 1099 freelance work separate from this new primary care practice
3. Be able to have tax advantages from the new setup for myself and DW
4. My wife also has 1099 freelance work separately, she also gets paid as a 1099 to her personal checking account currently for that work

Any and all advice is appreciated! Thank you!
Topic Author
mdbravelion

Re: Physician Practice Structure Help!

Post by mdbravelion »