What to do if I’m not good at my job but I’m paid well?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
bigtex

What to do if I’m not good at my job but I’m paid well?

Post by bigtex »

It seems like every job I find myself in, I am constantly getting corrected by my managers for errors and mistakes. I am working hard trying my best and fixing the errors, but it is sort of demoralizing and makes me feel like I’m not cut out for this job / career. The problem is I am paid well, but I don’t feel like I am a valuable part of the company since I seem to be slowing others down. Any advice for me? Maybe I am a slow learner but it seems like I never have the right training or skills to do the job well?
afan

Re: What to do if I’m not good at my job but I’m paid well?

Post by afan »

If it is lack of training and skills, then those can be learned. I am sure it is disheartening to get the sort of feedback you describe, but that can be corrected. It the work pays well and you like it for a career, then you may just need some training. Depending on what it is, you may want anything from formal coursework, to on the job training to Youtube videos.
If you have a job that pays well and has a future, I would try to plug the gaps.
We don't know how to beat the market on a risk-adjusted basis, and we don't know anyone that does know either | --Swedroe | We assume that markets are efficient, that prices are right | --Fama
Tiny Portfolio

Post by Tiny Portfolio »

Keep your mouth shut, and cash your check!
tedgeorge

Post by tedgeorge »