Roth IRA Contributions Basis and Tax returns

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
ImpossibleMonkey

Roth IRA Contributions Basis and Tax returns

Post by ImpossibleMonkey »

Hello all,

I have joined the workforce a few years ago and contributed to a Roth IRA in 2 ways:

• Backdoor Roth: I was over the limit to contribute directly to a Roth IRA so I have been maxing out my Trad IRA each year and converting it right away to my Roth IRA

• My employer let me contribute after tax money to my 401K. I have have been doing a Mega Backdoor Roth (putting the after tax money in the 401K and doing an in-service distributions to my Roth IRA) up to the annual limit

I have been doing the above for 4-5 years. For the last 2 years I have been working with a very nice CPA. On my tax return I can see the amounts I have contributed via the Backdoor Roth and Mega Backdoor Roth. My CPA also adds a worksheet with the carry over from previous years (I can see the total of this year + total from last year etc)

My goal:

I am trying to figure out how much I have contributed as I need to withdraw all my Roth Contributions/Conversions (I'm sure what is the correct term here as I was doing conversions from Trad IRA and roll over from 401K). My understanding is that I would be able to withdraw this penalty free wherever

My goal is to find out the exact $ amount of my Roth contributions/conversions I can withdraw and that the IRS records (if they keep track of this) matches what I'll take out

Questions

• Does your total Roth contributions/conversions (whatever I was doing) appear somewhere on your last tax return? Or do you only see the contributions/conversions for the current year and the worksheet my CPA adds is just an optional extra?