Vanguard poor service vs actual errors

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
tc101

Vanguard poor service vs actual errors

Post by tc101 »

We all know about the poor service at Vanguard. Long wait times and uneducated reps. I can live with that for now because I so rarely have to contact them.

How about actual errors, where they give you more or less money than they should in a transfer, exchange, dividend or anything else? I can not live with that. Are you seeing any actual money mistakes?
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.
dbr

Re: Vanguard poor service vs actual errors

Post by dbr »

There was a thread here from someone who claimed that Vanguard was telling him they had no money for him on the grounds that he did not exist.

Well, maybe a bit garbled but you might find the thread somehow and see if there was an outcome. It was something about no one with that name being anywhere in their records or somesuch story.
Topic Author
tc101

Post by tc101 »

That's scary.
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.
livesoft

Post by livesoft »

I'm not sure if this counts, but I have seen dividends paid twice by Vanguard to my non-Vanguard brokerage account where I hold Vanguard ETFs. When I asked my brokerage firm about this the response was quick both times: "Vanguard sent us the wrong information and when they corrected what they sent us, we corrected your account."
Wiki This signature message sponsored by sscritic: Learn to fish.
furwut

Post by furwut »