What would you do - housing?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
GotNoWisdom

What would you do - housing?

Post by GotNoWisdom »

Looking for some sage BH guidance on housing situation. The housing market is ridiculously hot in our location.

Breakdown:

38, Married, 4 kids (6/3/1/1), living in a HCOL 3 bed/2 bath. Kids doing fine sharing bedrooms but not a lot of space outside of that (our kitchen/living room doubles as dining, playroom, etc). So we are looking for more space, but it's expensive.
Wife is a SAHM. No nanny, etc., she does it all.

I am an ER physician and although my job is better than most ER jobs, the job market is on the decline. I've taken about 20% per-patient paycut over the last couple of years and have made up for that by seeing 20% more patients (more shifts etc.) to stay even. I make about $325k per year all-in which includes two side gig/part time roles that I have added in. My comp a few years ago was about $360k with less hours/work.

Current house - owe 330K, 320K equity
Current finances
401k - 300K
Cash - 180K
Taxable - 1 million
Roth - 100K
Loans - Student loans paid off, owe 10K on a Toyota at 0.9%
529 1 - 38k
529 2 - 18k
529 3 - 0
529 4 - 0

We currently live in an area with suboptimal public schools. There is a nearby reasonably priced private school which our 6 year old attends which runs $11k per year per kid, 4th is free, so looking at $33k/yr.

Options:

4 or 5 bed house in current area: $1.2-1.6 million (recently redone 3 BR/2BA two houses down from us went for 1.1 mil last month)
4 or 5 bed house in area where we could switch to public schools $2.2-2.5 million
Stay put: Free, except cost of sanity