Long-Term Disability Insurance - Millennial

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
indexer01

Long-Term Disability Insurance - Millennial

Post by indexer01 »

Hi everyone!

After reading this forum for many years and absorbing lots of investing knowledge, I now need some guidance on non-investment matters. I've decided that it makes sense for me to get long-term disability insurance. It is currently not offered by my employer, and in the case that something happens to put me out of work permanently, I would certainly need more than government assistance. I have a disabled sister that will eventually be my financial responsibility when my mother passes (hopefully that is several decades away), and would not want to be in a resource-less situation.

I am completely new to researching insurance, so I'm going to give some basic details about me in case they help:

Age/Gender: 28 y.o. male
Gross Annual Salary: $77.5k
State of residence: Florida

And I suppose my questions are these:

1) What is the range of monthly payments I'm looking at that would be considered reasonable? (I do have some pre-existing medical conditions that might bump up the price)
2) Are there any good companies I should start with?
3) What riders, if any, should I look at?

Thanks so much in advance, and I'd be happy to give more info if that helps anyone guide me in the right direction :D
runninginvestor

Re: Long-Term Disability Insurance - Millennial

Post by runninginvestor »

I'm glad you are thinking about these things, especially as it's not just being offered to you. Which usually lead people to never think about these things. I know there are knowledgeable people that will respond with your specifics. In the meantime, glance at the wiki:
https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Disability_insurance