Citibank Virtual Account Numbers (VAN) going away?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
samsoes

Citibank Virtual Account Numbers (VAN) going away?

Post by samsoes »

Hi folks, I have an Citibank MasterCard (American Airlines rewards), which is my oldest card, having it since 1995. I have always made use of the Virtual Account Number (VAN) feature which allows one to generate an account number with a very low credit limit which expires in one month. These have come in very handy over the years when ordering things from online sites which aren't well-known, and have been quite effective guarding against recurring charges.

Recently, Citibank sent me a new card, with greatly excited language saying it now works with contact-less terminals. Ok, good. But they also changed my account number. The first four digits are now 5254 rather than 5466. (The account numbers have always started with 5466, even with replacement cards the few times I've misplaced my card and needed a new number.)

I noticed yesterday that the VAN feature no longer works. The error message is, "We're sorry, your account is not eligible for this feature..."

Also, when I attempted to update its account number on my local B&M bank's bill-pay service, the B&M bank said the 5254 account number was invalid for the merchant (Citibank credit cards). I now have to authorize Citibank to "pull" my payment (hate that!), or mail a check.

Has anyone else encountered these problems? (Yes, I know I can call, but the telephone wait times are unbearable these days.)

Thanks!
"Happiness Is Not My Companion" - Gen. Gouverneur K. Warren. | (Avatar is the statue of Gen. Warren atop Little Round Top @ Gettysburg National Military Park.)
mkc

Re: Citibank Virtual Account Numbers (VAN) going away?

Post by mkc »