Form 5500-EZ Privacy Questions

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
CFM300

Form 5500-EZ Privacy Questions

Post by CFM300 »

The IRS has announced that Form 5500-EZ can now be filed online and that information from one-participant plans filed online will not be available to the public on the DOL website. Nonetheless, the 2019 Form 5500-EZ instructions state, "Information filed on Form 5500-EZ and Form 5500-SF is required to be made available to the public."

Let's assume that I am a sole-proprietor dba "Acme Consulting," that my name is John Smith and the name of my 401(k) plan is "John Smith's Individual 401(k) Plan." Let's also assume that the EIN I used on the adoption agreement is the same as the EIN I've been giving to clients.

Several questions:

1. Is there any privacy advantage to changing the name of the plan to the name of my business, e.g., "Acme Consulting 401(k) Plan"?

2. Is there any privacy advantage to getting a new EIN for the plan itself to use on the 5500-EZ?

3. Can I list "Acme Consulting" as the employer name on line 2a, and my individual name for "In care of name"?

4. I have no separate business phone number. Should I get a Google Voice number to use on this form?
BolderBoy

Re: Form 5500-EZ Privacy Questions

Post by BolderBoy »

CFM300 wrote: Sat May 16, 2020 2:30 pmThe IRS has announced that Form 5500-EZ can now be filed online and that information from one-participant plans filed online will not be available to the public on the DOL website. Nonetheless, the 2019 Form 5500-EZ instructions state, "Information filed on Form 5500-EZ and Form 5500-SF is required to be made available to the public."
The announcment says the online filing of form 5500-EZ is for plan years after 2019.