Bay Area teacher saving half my income – why the doubt? (and asking more questions)

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
Ron Ronnerson

Bay Area teacher saving half my income – why the doubt? (and asking more questions)

Post by Ron Ronnerson »

There was recently a thread about the cost to live a middle-class lifestyle in a VHCOL area. I posted that I’m a teacher in the Bay Area and my wife is a stay-at-home parent and we’re saving half our income. People began questioning how that could be but the thread was derailed and shut down before I could respond.

Here’s my post on that thread from the other day: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=290304&start=50#p4745967

I thought I’d answer some of the questions that were raised in response to my post and, to keep this actionable, ask for feedback on how to further improve our situation. I owe much gratitude to the people on this forum for providing guidance to us over the years.

These comments were made in response to my post:
-“115K income, live in a VHCOL and you save half your income. Seems VERY suspect. So you can live in San Fran with a family and survive off 4K a month?”

-“The older linked to post states his mortgage is less than $400k on a townhome worth more than $800k. So either bought a while ago, or got family help on the down payment and must live out in an affordable suburb somewhere.”

-“If he’s a teacher and his wife doesn’t work he need only live in a neighborhood with his school to have a reasonable commute. In areas where people are commuting to tech companies the rents and home prices get driven further up. I live in SoCal and the area around my work condos are probably $600k and homes 800 to 1M. And it’s not even the fanciest part of town.”