Physician Disability Insurance

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
Cali123

Physician Disability Insurance

Post by Cali123 »

Hello all,

I am trying to decide if I should purchase individual own occupation disability insurance. I am a surgeon and make approximately $1 million per year. My spouse makes $150k per yr. We have >$2 million saved in brokerage/savings/401k, have no student loans and have a million dollar home paid off. We have 2 children under the age of 3 yo and we are both close to 40 yo. Expenses per month are $7k. We plan on paying for our kids college/graduate school.

I am healthy and have no immediate family members with a history of chronic debilitating health conditions. $15k of monthly coverage would cost $5k annually (posttax) for an individual policy. My spouse says it's a waste of money given our situation.

Do you think I should purchase this disability insurance? I appreciate any advice/thoughts. Thanks!
BruDude

Re: Physician Disability Insurance

Post by BruDude »

Disclaimer - I sell insurance

Yes, you should definitely have disability insurance, and IMO a lot more than $15k/month. Sure, you could probably retire tomorrow and be just fine, but you are earning $1M/year for potentially another 20+ years - why would you want to risk losing that income for such a nominal cost in the grand scheme of things? $15k/mo is the max that one company might offer (some go up to $17k for physicians), but you can also buy a supplemental policy which will cover you for another $45k/month on top of that.