More advice for BigLaw Survivor, please?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
BigLaw Survivor

More advice for BigLaw Survivor, please?

Post by BigLaw Survivor »

So I've officially become addicted to this forum now that I really need to get my act together. Everyone's advice has been really helpful. With my apologies to those who have already read and advised on my previous post, which contains much but not all of what follows, I'm now going to put it all out there, all of it, and ask that folks fire away. I'm a total novice at financial planning and need all the advice and reactions I can get.

Background: right before I turned 54, and after 27 years at BigLaw in a major East Coast law firm, the last ten years or so as a partner, I finally decided in June to walk away. I just couldn't do it anymore. The kids are grown and self-sufficient, college is all done and paid for, and, well, I was just done. But I didn't do any real long term planning before making my exit other than try and accumulate as much cash as I could, and after taking a rest for a few months I now need to think more carefully about how to move forward.

First, my full financial disclosure and second my basic thinking for moving forward.

My net worth is $4.8 million, broken down as follows:

ASSETS:

Cash: $66k

Law Firm Capital due and owing over the next three years: $551k (non-taxable but also earning nothing; basically cash under a mattress)

Taxable brokerage account (outside of retirement): $1.001 million (nearly 100 percent invested in US stocks/mutual funds and including about $142k in unrealized gains)

401k: $1.64 million (52% US stock funds, 17% international stock funds, 31% bond funds)

Traditional IRA: $608k (100 percent US stocks and US mutual funds)

Defined Benefit Retirement Plan: $167k (no discretion on how to invest)