Tow vehicle

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
the journey

Tow vehicle

Post by the journey »

Hello all,

I wanted to get responses from the group about a vehicle purchase question.

Presently have an F150 and have been towing the camper that we purchased Spring of 2020 for our family of 6. Our camper is a 32 foot bumper pull and is 7400 dry. The F150 is within the specs to tow the camper but the tow vehicle (TV) ratio and weight is less than desirable with the camper. I grew up on a farm and have experience towing so I’ve been able to handle the set up thus far.

We have been camping roughly 20 times with the camper and I’m pulled it around 3k miles. We normally camp within 1-3 hours of home. So, I have a lot of experience towing with this set up.

I did not upgrade my truck as I did not want any further capital outlay at that time. However, I’ve been thinking lately of taking up to a heavier vehicle.

However, I’m stuck on the cost of the upgrade. With a Diesel engine, 3/4 ton, and mid level trim the vehicle is around 65k. Also the insurance and fuel costs will be higher. For my vehicle I put about 7k miles a year.

The used vehicle market is high right now, so the above vehicle is new. I would prefer a new vehicle with some upgrades but still mid tier cost range.

I have the difference between the trade and the new vehicle available in cash. Our savings goals are on track and actually better than I forecasted with my IPS several years ago.

I guess I’m stuck on the whole hedonic treadmill idea. I want to continue to save aggressively but I don’t want to be unwise as this specific question does point to safety as well.

This purchase will do affect our financial security or goals, but it does lend itself to the inflating lifestyle discussion.

I enjoy hearing the perspective and wisdom of the group, so this is why I sought a discussion.

Thanks