Electric Bike

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
almostretired1965

Electric Bike

Post by almostretired1965 »

Looking for some recommendations for an electric bike for around $1000. Usage scenario is mostly for riding on paved trails for pleasure and possibly for commuting to a job about 1.5 miles away from the house. Need to make the purchase by the end of the year, but flexible in terms of exact timing. For fitting purposes, I'm on the short side, 5'7" with 29 inch inseam. Never owned an electric. I have zero experience with decent bikes, mostly owned $200 to $300 hybrids bought at places like Target and Costco in the past that were fine for what I was looking for.
JoeRetire

Re: Electric Bike

Post by JoeRetire »

Check out Rad bikes: https://www.radpowerbikes.com/

Your $1000 target might be a bit low for a good e-bike.
This isn't just my wallet. It's an organizer, a memory and an old friend.
Topic Author
almostretired1965

Post by almostretired1965 »

JoeRetire wrote: Sat Sep 11, 2021 3:54 pm Check out Rad bikes: https://www.radpowerbikes.com/

Thanks. Rad Mission is $1000 without any options and I think it could fit the bill ...... Too bad the bundle that is on sale actually comes with crap I don't want like the fancy bike lock.
KlangFool

Post by KlangFool »

https://electricbikereview.com/

OP,

Check out this web site for ebike review and key factors in buy an e-bike.

KlangFool
30% VWENX | 16% VFWAX/VTIAX | 14.5% VTSAX | 19.5% VBTLX | 10% VSIAX/VTMSX/VSMAX | 10% VSIGX| 30% Wellington 50% 3-funds 20% Mini-Larry
gtd98765

Post by gtd98765 »

Whatever e-bike you get, make sure there is a bike shop in your city that can repair that kind. We had a $700 e-bike from China that worked for three years, but when the electronic control broke, none of the bike shops in town would try to fix it since they did not have manuals/access to spare parts.