DIY recessed lighting installation?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
softmax

DIY recessed lighting installation?

Post by softmax »

I'm contemplating adding a few recessed lights by myself but I have zero experience in electrical work :happy.
My attic is easy to access and those DIY youtube videos seem straightforward. It's definitely not rocket science but I just don't know if it can easily become a fire hazard if not done professionally.
It definitely saves money but is a penny wise and pound foolish move?
Normchad

Re: DIY recessed lighting installation?

Post by Normchad »

You shouldn't do this if you don't know what you are doing.

Legally, you are required to get a permit for this. Although many people don't get one.

yes, they can be a fire hazard. Depending on the bulb you use, they create a lot of heat, and can catch insulation or other material on fire. they can also create a fire hazard by over=loading whatever circuit you hook them up to.

There are LED equivalent fixtures now that don't produce as much heat, or draw as much power. But still, you shouldn't do this if you don't know what you are doing.
Bogle7

нет

Post by Bogle7 »

1. Get a permit. If you have a fire and no permit, then your insurance company will not pay.
2. Pay a pro whose work can pass inspection.
3. Have the pro do more work while there. For example, whole house surge protector, changing breakers to arc fault, installing an outlet behind the toilet in the master bath, installing a BEV charger in the garage, etc.
Last edited by Bogle7 on Tue Apr 13, 2021 11:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
Old fart who does three index stock funds, baby.
Sandtrap
Location: Hawaii No Ka Oi - white sandy beaches, N. Arizona 1 mile high.

Post by Sandtrap »