Simple time tracking/logging tool

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
HasHas

Simple time tracking/logging tool

Post by HasHas »

Fellow Bogleheads,

I just came across a simple "time log" in one of Randy Pausch's presentations on time management (see the picture below). As some of you may already be aware, Randy was a Professor of Computer Science at Carnegie Mellon who gave the popular "Last Lecture" ( YouTube Link ), which later appeared as a book with the same name (Wikipedia Link).

As a Professor myself, I have to juggle multiple responsibilities everyday (such as teaching, research, mentoring, and service). Obviously some are more important than the others for my career and it would be great to understand how much time is spent on each category (not easy to manually track, hence this post). I am sure many other knowledge workers or managers working on different projects face the same problem. I was intrigued by the simplicity of the "time log" in Randy's slides. One can define major activities/responsibilities (teaching, research, mentoring and service for professors) based on the nature of their job and then just mark the activity for which a specific time block was used.

For those who are interested, I found pdf and excel files of this time log on GitHub. Here is the link: The Randy Pausch TimeLog.